Kentucky Derby contenders Custom Hat Program Equine Art Horse Belts Racing Resources Horse Racing Picks Horse Racing Club Horse Racing Books Handicapping Horses Horse Farms Thoroughbred Stallions Currently Running Racehorses Kentucky Derby Winners All Time Great Horses See All The Hats
Triple Crown Winners
Kentucky Derby Winners | Preakness Winners | Belmont Winners | Breeders Cup Winners | Horse Racing Guide
In the more than 125 year history of the U.S. events, only eleven horses have ever won the U.S. Triple Crown consisting of the Kentucky Derby, Preakness Stakes and Belmont Stakes.  Only three-year old horses can run in the Triple Crown races.  The Kentucky Derby is run on the first Saturday in May, The Preakness two weeks after that, and finally the Belmont three weeks after the Preakness.  The Kentucky Derby is 1 1/4 miles, the Preakness is the shortest of the Triple Crown Races at 1 3/16 miles and the Belmont is the longest at 1 1/2 miles.

Year Name Jockey Trainer Owner Hat
1978 Affirmed Steve Cauthen Lazaro S. Barrera Harbor View Farm Affirmed 1978 Triple Crown Winner
1977 Seattle Slew Jean Cruguet William Turner, Jr. Karen L. Taylor Seattle Slew 1977 Triple Crown Winner
1973 Secretariat Ron Turcotte Lucien Laurin Meadow Stable Secretariat 1973 Triple Crown Winner
1948 Citation Eddie Arcaro Ben A. Jones Calumet Farm  
1946 Assault Warren Mehrtens Max Hirsch King Ranch  
1943 Count Fleet John Longden Don Cameron Mrs. J. D. Hertz  
1941 Whirlaway Eddie Arcaro Ben A. Jones Calumet Farm  
1937 War Admiral Charley Kurtsinger George Conway Samuel D. Riddle War Admiral 1937 Triple Crown Winner
1935 Omaha William Saunders James Fitzsimmons Belair Stud  
1930 Gallant Fox Earl Sande James Fitzsimmons Belair Stud  
1919 Sir Barton John Loftus H. G. Bedwell J. K. L. Ross